Campaigning will officially start on Oct. 10 for a Lower House election that has already drastically changed the landscape of Japan’s political world.

The contest for 465 seats in the Oct. 22 election pits Prime Minister Shinzo Abe’s ruling coalition against two political forces centered on parties that were formed in the past few weeks.

Abe’s Liberal Democratic Party will field 292 candidates, with most running in single-seat districts, according to figures as of Oct. 8.

In contrast, junior coalition partner Komeito will run 53 candidates, with a large majority in proportional representation constituencies.

Kibo no To (Party of hope), a new party led by Tokyo Governor Yuriko Koike, is cooperating with Nippon Ishin (Japan Innovation Party) in the election. Her party has a strong base in Tokyo but almost no presence in the Kansai region, where Nippon Ishin is quite strong.

In total, Kibo no To will field 201 candidates, while Nippon Ishin will run 52 candidates.

Running on the Kibo no To ticket are a number of candidates who left the main opposition Democratic Party, which splintered after Koike established her party.

However, not all Democratic Party lawmakers were allowed to join Kibo no To.

So 62 left-leaning candidates joined the Constitutional Democratic Party of Japan (CDP), recently created by Yukio Edano, the former deputy president of the Democratic Party.

The CDP will be cooperating with two other leftist parties, the Japanese Communist Party and the Social Democratic Party. Together, those three parties form the third major force in the election.

The three parties are supporting a unified candidate in about 250 single-seat districts.

Kibo no To held a rally in Tokyo on Oct. 9 to regain momentum for the election campaign.

“We say ‘no’ to a political world where only Abe’s coalition has power,” Koike said. “We will argue for policies that have an edge and that established parties would be unable to propose.”

Major reapportionment has reduced the number of seats up for grabs by 10 from the last Lower House election held in 2014.