Line messaging app users will soon be able to delete messages from the records of the people they dispatched them to.

They will have 24 hours to delete offending or embarrassing missives or messages they accidentally sent to the wrong person.

The new rule is likely to take effect in December.

Line users are already able to remove messages from their own app records, but this will enable them to eradicate the messages from the records of the receiver.

“The move is part of our function expansion efforts to improve the app’s user-friendliness and give more options for communications,” said a publicity official of Line.

The Line operator conducted an online questionnaire survey on Nov. 10-12 and the "miss-sending" of messages came up as a common practice.

The results showed more than 80 percent of Line users have sent messages that they later thought were wrong ... or were sent to the wrong people.