STOCKHOLM--Two U.S.-based scientists have been awarded the 2018 Crafoord Prize for their contribution to climate research.

The prize committee says Japan-born Syukuro Manabe, a meteorologist based at Princeton University, and Susan Salomon, an American environmental scientist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, are sharing the 6 million Swedish krona ($748,000 or 83 million yen) prize.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Thursday cited their "fundamental contributions to understanding the role of atmospheric trace gases in Earth's climate system."

The Crafoord Prize is awarded in a different discipline each year. The academy gives it to honor achievements not always covered by its more famous Nobel Prizes. It is named after Holger Crafoord, a Swede who designed the first artificial kidney.