Photo/IllutrationPrime Minister Shinzo Abe addresses Liberal Democratic Party lawmakers after he was elected as party president on Sept. 20. (Satoru Semba)

Prime Minister Shinzo Abe won a third term as president of the ruling Liberal Democratic Party on Sept. 20, garnering close to 70 percent of the votes.

The LDP presidential election, the first to be held in six years, was a two-man race that pitted Abe against Shigeru Ishiba, a former LDP secretary-general. Abe secured 553 votes against Ishiba's 254 votes.

Abe, 63, held a huge lead in terms of votes from Diet members with five major factions expressing their support for his re-election.

Abe hauled in 329 votes among LDP lawmakers, while Ishiba, 61, picked up 73 among his fellow Diet members.

Ishiba tried to generate the same enthusiasm among local party members as in the election six years ago, but Abe prevailed in terms of total votes among LDP party members and supporters.

The votes among party members and supporters were distributed proportionately between Abe and Ishiba, with the prime minister picking up 224 votes and Ishiba gaining 181 votes.