Photo/Illutration The Foreign Ministry in Tokyo’s Kasumigaseki district (Asahi Shimbun file photo)

Japan raised its infectious disease warning for 14 additional countries, including Russia and Qatar, to Level 3, urging the public to avoid traveling to those destinations because of the new coronavirus pandemic.

The announcement by Foreign Minister Toshimitsu Motegi at an afternoon news conference on April 24 brings the number of countries and regions designated Level 3, second from the top on a four-stage scale, to 87.

The newly added countries include Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Qatar and Peru. All countries in Europe are now on the list.

The government convened an emergency ministerial-level meeting of the National Security Council on April 27 and decided on ways to strengthen measures to prevent the virus from entering the country, such as banning entry to foreign nationals who have visited the 14 countries in the past two weeks. The entry ban will take effect on April 29.