Photo/Illutration The Foreign Ministry building in Tokyo’s Kasumigaseki district (Asahi Shimbun file photo)

Japan will ban entry to foreign nationals from 18 more countries, including Cuba, Georgia and Iraq, from July 1, in principle, in response to growing numbers of COVID-19 cases there.

The decision, made at an emergency ministerial-level meeting of the National Security Council on June 29, brings the total number of nations and territories on Japan's no-entry list to 129.

The newly added countries are Algeria, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Costa Rica, Cuba, Eswatini, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Iraq, Jamaica, Lebanon, Mauritania, Nicaragua, Senegal, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

The government also extended the period for measures targeting nations and regions not on the list, including invalidating visas and limiting airports where international flights can land, by one month to the end of July.